• Download Demi Lovato
  • Download Bob Marley
  • Download Mika
  • Download Deadmau5
  • Download Katy Perry

Download Chet in Chicago the Legacy Vol. 5

by Chet Baker
  • Release type: Album
  • Year: 2008
  • Tracks: 9
  • Duration: 62:32
  • Size, Mb: 79.6
  • Bitrate: MP3 192
  • Genre: Jazz, Vocal


This latter period studio session from Chet Baker was previously unissued for over 20 years before seeing the light of day in 2008. With pianist Bradley Young in Chicago before heading to California, bassist Larry Gray (who would become longtime sideman for Ramsey Lewis and a leader on his own), and drummer Rusty Jones, Baker has a backup band he sounds comfortable swinging with. It does seem they are warming up on a swing-plus-samba take of "Old Devil Moon," as the trumpeter sounds clean but reticent, but by "It's You or No One," the group is collectively more assertive. Three tracks with tenor saxophonist Ed Petersen, including the solid Charlie Parker bop anthem "Ornithology," rev everyone up. It's at the end of the program where Baker hits his stride on the Miles Davis tunes "Sippin' at Bells" and "Solar," taking the lead with energy and renewed confidence, while Petersen's fine solo on the former track represents the best of his playing. Baker sings on one lone track, his classic, understated read of "My Funny Valentine." Sound quality is more than adequate, quite good overall, and considering the time period of 1986, about two years before his death, Baker sounds pretty good, too, even with a so-called pick-up band.

Latest search