• Download Demi Lovato
  • Download Fort Minor
  • Download One Direction
  • Download Arctic Monkeys
  • Download Nicki Minaj

Download The Anthology

by Roy Orbison
  • Release type: Compilation
  • Year: 1999
  • Tracks: 13
  • Duration: 42:02
  • Size, Mb: 77.13
  • Bitrate: MP3 256
  • Genre: Pop/Rock


Released on Orbison Records to coincide with a PBS showing of Roy Orbison & Friends: A Black & White Night, Anthology contains a selection of 13 highlights from Roy Orbison's latter-day recordings for Virgin. The title implies that the record will be a definitive summary of his career, which it isn't. Instead, Anthology is a hodge-podge, containing latter-day re-recordings of classic hits, selections from the live Black & White Night, Mystery Girl's hit "You Got It," and a couple of odd demos, which will be the only thing of interest to hardcore collectors here -- and, chances are, they'll find that they're not interesting enough to justify purchase. Which leaves casual fans, who are clearly the target of this collection. Chances are, they're not going to be satisfied by this, since it touches so many different bases without ever settling on a groove. It's enjoyable enough -- these are good songs, and Orbison seems to have never given a bad performance -- but it simply isn't as good as a collection of original versions of the hits, which is what most casual listeners will want.

Latest search