• Download Linkin Park
  • Download Katy Perry
  • Download Lily Allen
  • Download Radiohead
  • Download Arctic Monkeys

Download Vocalese

by Manhattan Transfer
  • Release type: Album
  • Year: 1985
  • Tracks: 11
  • Duration: 45:28
  • Size, Mb: 104.34
  • Bitrate: MP3 320
  • Genre: Vocal, Jazz, Pop/Rock


Many of the Manhattan Transfer's recordings up to the point of Vocalese showed off their diversity and covered a wide variety of music, including jazz. This set was quite a bit different, for it is dedicated to the vocalese of the great Jon Hendricks. the Manhattan Transfer (singers Cheryl Bentyne, Tim Hauser, Alan Paul and Janis Siegel) perform a dozen songs using Hendricks' lyrics, including "That's Killer Joe," "Rambo," "Ray's Rockhouse" and "Sing Joy Spring." Utilizing their regular band of the period (which includes guitarist Wayne Johnson), the Count Basie Orchestra (directed at the time by Thad Jones), the Four Freshmen (on "To You"), tenorman James Moody, Bobby McFerrin (guesting on "Night in Tunisia"), McCoy Tyner, Dizzy Gillespie (on "Sing Joy Spring"), altoist Richie Cole, and Hendricks himself, among many others, the Transfer give these boppish tunes definitive vocal treatments. This is one of their finest jazz recordings and a classic of its kind.

Latest search