• Download The Strokes
  • Download Adele
  • Download Imagine Dragons
  • Download James Blunt
  • Download Mika

Download We Are Sent Here By History

by Shabaka And The Ancestors
  • Release type: Album
  • Year: 2020
  • Tracks: 11
  • Duration: 63:45
  • Size, Mb: 146.13
  • Bitrate: MP3 320


We Are Sent Here by History is the sophomore outing from London's Shabaka Hutchings & the Ancestors, who are all South African musicians. It is also their debut on Impulse, resulting in a hat trick for their leader: His other bands, the Comet Is Coming and Sons of Kemet, also record for the historic American label. Cut in Johannesburg and Capetown, his sextet -- Mthunzi Mvubu (alto sax), Siyabonga Mthembu (vocals), Ariel Zamonsky (double bass), Gontse Makhene (percussion), and Tumi Mogorosi (drums) -- haven't worked together since the stellar Wisdom of the Elders in 2016, but individually and collectively they've grown immensely while sticking stubbornly to an aesthetic that melds the new thing jazz to Afro-Latin and South African township jazz brought to England and the Americas by Hugh Masekela, Chris MacGregor, Dudu Pukwana, Louis Moholo, and Johnny Dyani.

Latest search